The fake kitchen

Been working on my kitchen but nothing seemed to be working out right. Things just did not fit if you asked me.

What a weird space. I will make it work

I started with the back wall which came from an envelope I received some plants in.

Then I realized since it is the exact size of the wall I could use it to make my cabinets, glue them all in place then install the wall with everything on it. If I don’t like it just take it all off the “envelope”

So let me tell you I can’t cut a straight line for crap. Not in the real world nor in the doll world so if something looks off you don’t have to point it out… I seen it.

I am also lazy. I want it to look right but I don’t care about doors opening and stuff. Just make them look like they open and I am happy! It’s all about the illusion.

This is what I am working with. A 3-piece kitchen set I nabbed on clearance at Hobby Lobby.

I laid out my stove on the wall and I know I need my microwave on top with some cabinets and some bottom cabinets.

For the cabinets I am using mattboard I ordered from Amazon. Its thick and stiff and easily paintable.

I cut out my boxes then I cut out a door and glued it on top. I left a little edge on each side.

I just winged it and then painted it

I made sure the front of the counter had the beveled⁷ edge

They are not exactly straight but I will glue to the stove giving it the illusion of being straight.

Next is the top cabinets. I cut one board the width of the wall. I added pieces on top to give the illusion of doors.

I made a cut out for the microwave

Next I went to my stash of boxes and found the perfect size.

This is going to create the illusion of depth. It’s 1.5″ deep.
I glued the front to the box and then glued the microwave to the bottom of the box. I knew that box would come in handy one day!
Here is what I have so far. Stuff looks a little crooked because it is just laying on the back. Nothing is placed permanently yet except the microwave.
I painted the top with Expresso then dabbed some copper on it, then expresso a dab of black and then copper again
I put a little epoxy on it. And let it dry over night
I used 2 sided tape to install. It’s not perfect but next time it will be better. Hopefully.

I decided not to add any handles on the door. Mainly cause I don’t know how.

It’s a little wonky. I should have attached it to the right edge instead of the left, then the microwave would be centered….I think. Next time it will be better.

2 thoughts on “The fake kitchen

  1. Great, love the blog. So nice to see someone working through things and not showing how perfect everything is. I too work to a budget and learn by mistakes. Life’s not perfect why should my ‘makes’ be, much more real. Your project’s fab, you’re very inspiring, thank you

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment