A Romantic Tub (part 1)

I found this tub on Pinterest and was inspired to make my own.  Originally I had planned something totally different for my bath but who can’t love this

img_0002

This instructions are in Spanish so I didn’t know this was not 1:12 scale.

13

I made the tub and saw that it was too small.  I had to make a pattern for  a larger one. This project took most of the day and night.  hhhhhhhhhhhhh…this dollhouse is killing me!

I had to measure my real tub first to get the correct dimensions and found it should be   5″ long x 2 1/2 inches wide and 2-3″ high.  I used the original sides and enlarged it by just tracing the pattern bigger.

7

The original was about an inch too small.  This is half the side.  A whole side was too large to fit on a piece of paper.  To make the base I measured a square out on paper 5″ x 2 1/2″

2

then used the top of a paint bottle to round it off.  Perfect

3

I cut out the base in a piece of cardboard from a box and the sides out of thick scrapping paper.I cut out 4 of the sides and taped them together with masking tape.  I then glued the two layers together with the taped part in the middle.  I put a thin piece of matt board on the outside.

53.jpg

I used matt board because when I paint it I want the seam to be obvious. I put a clothes pin on it to hold it together while drying. After about an hour I put some strips of tape on the bottom edge of the sides.  I did this because when I glue on the bottom I want the tape to hold it in place until it dries.

11

I put a bead of glue all the way around the base

10

Then I wrapped the sides around it, taping it in place as I went along

15

I glued the open end and put another clothes pin there to hold it while it is drying.

8

To be continued…

Leave a Reply

