A Kitchen Cabinet

Grace wants to make all of her furniture so I went scavenging for materials.  I had some wood left over from a home improvement project.  It seemed the perfect size for the front of the cabinet.  We cut the length to 6.5″  the height is 3″.  I had some cardboard dividers that came in a package I received at the office.  Call me a pack rat if you want but I knew they would come in handy some day.

1

Here is what I needed for my cabinet (THAT FITS IN MY SPACE WALL TO WALL):

  • Cabinet front and back- 3″ h x 6.5″ w (I used wood)
  • 2 sides- 2 3/4″ w x 3″ h
  • 1 top- 3″ x 6 3/4″
  • 2 granite samples from Lowes or HD cut slightly larger than the top
  • photo of a cooler from a cabinet catalog (from Lowes or HD)
  • popsiscle sticks (Dollar Tree)
  • Matchstick size wood (Dollar Tree)

I cut out two door from cardboard.  Obviously these doors will not operate.  I glued them on the front.

2

cut popsicle sticks to trim them out

Cut granite laminate samples to be slightly larger than top with scissors and glued to top.  When you but the pieces together you can hardly notice the seam.

using hot glue glue the top to the front

5

Then glue on your sides

6

and your back

7

sand the edges a little.  It will smooth the corrugation

8

Put two coats of paint on.  Since you don’t have caulk to smooth out gaps you will have to do it with paint in layers.

I painted it and glued a photo of a wine cooler on the front.  I cut two small pieces of a toothpick and painted them brown then glued to the front to be used as handles.  Its okay for a first time project.

cabinet.PNG

 

 

Leave a Reply

